Bide Awhile welcomes new Board of Directors for 2018-2019

During our Annual General Meeting, held on Saturday, June 9, our membership approved the 2018-2019 board of directors, welcoming seven new directors, including Jenny Allen, Stacey Chisholm, Amanda Harwood, Jeff Lanthier, Gillian Martin-Greenough, Aaron Veinotte and Tessa Williams. Our executive committee now consists of Kate Peddle as President, Carolyn Baker as Vice President, Travis Newport as Secretary, Amanda Mitchell as Treasurer and Stephanie Willan as Past President. Returning directors also include Allison Coffin, Dave Quinton, Paul Briar, Geoff Richardson, Marc Tetreault and Michelle Venturini.

Immediately following the AGM, Past President Stephanie Willan announced our Volunteer of the Year, Nancy Mansfield – Nancy has been involved with Bide Awhile for decades. She first joined the Board back in 2009, sitting on and chairing various committees, while actively representing the shelter at various events and activities in the community. She has spent the last year in an ex-officio capacity, serving as our treasurer, while chairing the finance and calendar committees, and sat on a number of other committees as well.  Thank you, Nancy, for your hard work and dedication to the shelter!

On behalf of the board, Willan also recognized Mary McBay, our administrator/bookkeeper who has been with the shelter for more than ten years. Mary is an integral part of shelter operations and will be missed greatly by the Bide Awhile team when she retires in the fall.

Following the AGM, we held our Annual Summer Open House, where there was a sale of baked goods, crafts, books and of course with our doors open, the public was able to tour the shelter and learn more about the work we do.