Board Of Directors

Dynamic roles for a growing shelter

Our board members have played a variety of roles over the years. As the needs of the shelter evolve, the board adapts to meet those new challenges.

40 years ago, our board members regularly worked as hands-on volunteers in the shelter. At the time, there was no need for them to work on a capital campaign. Fast forward to today, and our needs have changed dramatically. Our new technologically advanced world demands that we have members with website experience and social media savvy. We also look for new members with the connections and skills that will help us meet our goals.

A perfect fit

We consider a number of factors when we choose new members for our Board of Directors, including:

  • their interest in the proper care and stewardship of abused and abandoned animals
  • their fit with our current initiatives
  • the strength of their community contacts

Each board member gives the shelter about four hours of their time every month. Some board members also contribute by joining individual committees .

Do you have the skills we need? Contact us to find out more about joining our Board of Directors.

2017/2018 Board of Directors

Stephanie Willan (President)
Vice-President, RMP Development Consulting Limited  swillan36@gmail.com

Darrold Gould (Executive Director)
Bide Awhile Animal Shelter  darroldgould@bideawhile.org

Nancy Mansfield (Treasurer, Ex Officio)
Certified Management Accountant, KLM Financial   nancy.mansfield@bellaliant.net

Kate Peddle (Vice President 1)
Private Banking Associate, Scotiabank  peddlekm@gmail.com

Paul Ryan (Vice President 2)
Commercial Account Manager, Credit Union Atlantic  pryan2112@gmail.com

Carolyn Baker (Secretary)
Coordinator, Program & Policy Compliance (Family), Province of NS  cmlushbaker@gmail.com

Alison Conrad
Consultant, Deloitte  a.conrad@dal.ca

Allison Coffin
Manager, Engineering, Heritage Gas Ltd.  acoffin@heritagegas.com

David Quinton
Financial Advisor, Sun Life Financial  davequinton@eastlink.ca

Nicola Watson
Lawyer, Pink Larkin  nwatson@pinklarkin.com

Elizabeth Lane
Consultant, Self-employed  nsliz@hotmail.com

Paul Briar
Insurance Broker, W.C.L. Bauld Insurance   pbriar@live.com

Sarah Dawson
Senior Advisor, Communications, Emera sarah.dawson@emera.com

Amanda Mitchell
Controller, Darim Masonry Ltd.  mitchellamanda14@yahoo.ca

Travis Newport
travisw.newport@gmail.com

Geoff Richardson
Manager, Public Health Agency of Canada  grichards99@hotmail.com

Amanda Spriggs
amandamspriggs@gmail.com

Marc Tetreault
Producer/Production Manager, Shut Up & Colour Pictures Inc.  tetreault.marc@gmail.com

Michelle Venturini
Policy Analyst, Province of Nova Scotia  michelle.venturini@dal.ca